Five yoga poses for better sleep

Yoga on beach

From Mind Body Green

Let me start this off by saying I am by no means an expert on yoga. I took a yoga class for one semester last year. I really liked it (and I dislike most forms of exercise), but I haven’t done much with it since.

That being said, I have been seeing a lot about yoga being good for sleep. The National Sleep Foundation (NSF) took a poll in 2013 that displayed a correlation between exercise and better sleep. The poll found that vigorous exercisers say they get the best sleep, people who do not exercise are the sleepiest and have the highest risk for sleep apnea (a medical condition that causes a person to stop breathing during sleep), less sitting per day is better for sleep, and exercise at any time of day is good for sleep. The NSF labeled yoga as a moderate form of exercise, compared to vigorous or light.

Just looking around online, I found dozens of lists of yoga poses to try before bed. I decided to pick five poses from five different lists to demonstrate. What I liked about these poses was they are simple and relaxing. Also, I could easily do them on my bed. If you wanted to, you would be able to do these poses in your pajamas right before you go to sleep.

I also recommend listening to some relaxing music while doing these poses. Pandora has a few different yoga-related stations. I personally like listening to classical music.

Also, be careful! TourTravelWorld.com has a great list of precautions to consider before attempting yoga for the first time.

Upside-down relaxation

Upside-down relaxation

1. Upside-down relaxation | Fitness Magazine

This pose is to be done for up to two minutes. You just scoot all the way up to the wall and put your legs up the wall. Lay your arms beside you with your palms up. I also like to close my eyes, because I feel more relaxed.

Child's pose

Child’s pose

2. Child’s pose | Health Magazine

For this pose, you start out on your hands and knees. Then shift your hips back towards your heels. Hold for up to two minutes.

Reclined bound angle pose

Reclined bound angle pose

3. Reclined bound angle pose | Mind Body Green

In the reclined bound angle pose, put a pillow under you back for support. Then put your heels together and relax your legs. Lay your arms to your sides with you palms facing up. Hold for at least two minutes.

Reclined twist

Reclined twist

4. Reclined twist | Best Health Magazine

In this pose, first lay down with your knees pulled to your chest. Then let them go to one side. Try doing this for one minute on each side.

Savasana

Savasana

5. Savasana | Women’s Health Magazine

This is arguably the easiest pose in all of yoga. Lay down with your arms to you side and palms facing up. I like to focus on relaxing each part of my body individually while I am in savasana.

Do you feel exercise helps your quality of sleep? What do you do to relax before bed? Let me know!

3 thoughts on “Five yoga poses for better sleep

  1. Pingback: Sleep the winter away | Snooze Queen

  2. Erin, this was awesome! My sister is a yoga instructor, but surprisingly enough, I have never actually done any yoga at all. I think a lot of times people lay in bed on their phones, computers, or watching TV before falling asleep and I think something like this could be beneficial to helping someone relax. I know I’m guilty of using bright electronics and whatnot before bed, which keeps my brain moving and awake, but I definitely want to try this out to relax myself before bed. Thanks!

    Like

  3. Hey Erin!
    I found this post very interesting. When I do yoga, I do it in the morning. I found that it really energized me and helped restore my sleeping pattern. I would actually go to sleep and wake up earlier than I usually do. And if I’m being honest, it was probably some of the best sleep I’ve gotten. I’ve never really thought of doing yoga before bed. I usually just read a book or watch a show or two. I know it has been written plenty of time that it’s not to good to look at bright screens before bed but it usually puts me right to sleep after a couple of minutes.

    I do like that you added pictures of the different poses in your post to ensure that we are doing to moves correctly. I might try to do some of these before bed and see if it relaxes me!

    Like

Leave a comment